CDL Training in Massachusetts

Massachusetts CDLBefore you begin CDL training in Massachusetts, it’s important to be aware of the following requirements and information about the program.

  • Applicants must be at least 18 years old to apply for an intrastate commercial driver’s license, and 21 years old to apply for an interstate CDL.
  • You must have a Social Security number and it must be verified with the Social Security Administration.
  • You must have a current Massachusetts driver’s license. If you do not have one, you must provide proof of the following: date of birth, signature, and Massachusetts residency. Photocopies of documents will not be accepted, they must be originals.
  • Be aware that your application will be processed through the National Driver Register as well as the Commercial Driver License Information System. This is done to verify the status of your driving privileges in other states.
  • If required by the class and endorsements for which you are applying, you must obtain a DOT medical certificate.
  • You will be required to pass the necessary written tests before you will be allowed to schedule a road test.
  • The road test will consist of a pre-trip vehicle inspection, basic vehicle control, and your skill in driving a commercial vehicle in various traffic situations.


The road test examiner will stamp and sign your permit indicating whether you passed or failed the road test. You must pass the road test before your permit expires. In order to be issued your CDL, you will need to bring the stamped, signed permit and any fees required to any Registry of Motor Vehicles full-service office.

For additional information on CDL training in Massachusetts please visit the website and download the CDL manual.

Website: http://www.mass.gov/rmv/license/8cdl.htm
Manual: http://www.mass.gov/rmv/cdlmanual/index.htm

Leave a Reply

© 2012 CDL Training. All rights reserved.